I've been playing SI since 2009 and, yes, it;s different, as an earlier post said. I left for a short time when it became acceptable to "BUY" your way to the top rather than prove it through skill and prowess in battle, and my ranking dropped considerably overnight. I came back because I figured I could still play that way and evade those who got those super-bloated fleets by other means. Raiding lesser point players for resources was understood as part of the game; it kept you alert and helped hone the skills of escape flight, feigning weakness for a ninja, and when to stand your ground. It was all part of SI, and if your buttocks clenched every so often, that too was part of the fun. I've lost entire fleets, yes, but it made me a better, more alert player.

That being said, I agree with the need to control bashing of smaller players but basing that control on total spice amount is confusing and misleading, After all, a 40-level mine counts for a lot of spice but isn't of much use in battle, if I understand correctly how the spice total is being calculated.

Perhaps what's needed is a revision and expansion of something we already have: the attack zones. First, revise them so it's based of fleet attack capability, not overall total of everything. Then revise and expand the number of zones.

Here's an example: now, I'm not claiming to be a small player--I just reached 1bn points (in Nexus), something I never imagined way back when--and have a moderately sized fleet. But I feel like a newbie when one of top 10 uber-players try to jump me with 16, 18, maybe 22 million Phoenixes. Even if I pulled my entire fleet together and threw in the kitchen sink, I wouldn't even dent that!

How did they get that big, anyway? I play regularly, as do many in my alliance, and we're not getting anywhere near that size! Those 2 factors together seem to me to be the root of the bashing problem.